Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

dangerous girls Published on: July 16th 2013
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery

It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine.

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

Holy shit. Deliciously good. This book is the Gone Girl version of Young Adult Literature. I read this book without knowing anything more than the synopsis and I don’t know a thing about trials, hearing and yadayada. My knowledge when it comes to that is just absolutely plain zero. Sure, I’ve watched some shows that have trials in it but I just thought of them as dull. That’s why I’m more into investigation, searching for clues, profiling, and arresting the unsub. But this book changed everything. . .

You know that feeling when you really want the book to end just to know what really happened but deep inside you really don’t want it to end because FEELINGS.

THE CHARACTERS:
Well, to be honest, I actually hated all the characters of Dangerous Girls except. . . no one. However, there were times but I can’t help but to feel sorry for Anne. It felt like the whole world was against her. And the other characters (Dekker, Tate, Ak, Mel) they just annoyed me. Although I absolutely like Elise and Anne’s relationship, I really felt their bond, their love for each other.

THE WRITING:
Abigail Haas had this talent of pulling you into her world, feeding you details, you would doubt it but you have no choice but to just let her take you wherever the hell she want. She is really good. Damn good.

Damn that plot twist. I already had an idea of what’s really happening in this book but she suddenly dropped a bomb and then I don’t even know what really is happening anymore, and then she fucking (EXCUSE MY LANGUAGE) dropped a bomb again and I screamed because FEELS.

THE BAD:
Well, I’m afraid Dangerous Girls do have flaws like any other books out there. The shifting of timelines, goodness, at first, it really was hard to keep up. Obviously, I’m not that fond of flashbacks. But I must say, somehow it worked because it left me guessing right until the end. So, this book is imperfectly perfect, if there such a thing.

OVERALL:
I highly recommend this book to all mystery fans out there. This book is just wow and amazing in so many levels. It is a nail-biting read and that jaw dropping twist > WOAH. Clever. Very clever indeed.

four-stars

Leave a Reply

