This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

this song will save your life Published: September 17th 2013
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

I was so excited to read this book! Who wouldn’t? Eye-catching cover? Yes! Amazing blurb? Check. Raving 5 star reviews? Check. Check. Check. *sigh* I feel so out-of-place. Everyone loved this book, everyone.

I think this book would have work for me if it wasn’t for the main character, Elise. Oh, she was so annoying. I ought to pity her but ugh she managed to annoy the hell out of me every time she talks, thinks, or even breathes. She was a pretentious bitch (sorry for my language). Oh, she hates popular music because for her music nowadays are bad-bad and she prefers the music from the 90s, 80s, or whatever era she was into. She thinks she’s some kind of intelligent person because she listens to ‘real’ music. That, my friend, offended me. I love music, I really do. I love all sorts of music, the heck I also listen to Justin Bieber or One Direction, Taylor Swift and saying that popular music are just crap because of auto-tune shits is not a good thing to say coming from a person who loves music, huh?

I also feel sorry for Elise’s friends. They were not treated well enough. OH WAIT SHE WANTED TO BE POPULAR *smacks head* that was the reason why she treated her friends like they were not good enough. Also, the scene where Elise ruined her step-sister’s project because she was afraid that she’d turn into something like her was not really fair. What she did was not really fair. Although, I’m glad she learned from it.

You know the book was bad if you loved the other character instead of the main character. I absolutely loved Vicky, Elise’s friend from the start. She was really a good friend. I wished we got more of her instead of Elise whining like a brat. I was also glad that Elise didn’t end up with Char. He’s a douche, a jerk, and an asshole. I’m pleased that the author didn’t pair them up unlike any other books out there that made excuses for such behavior.

So, the DJing. . . Well, Elise must surely have a talent. I mean, she just started DJing for a few weeks and then everybody was so amazed at her!

Anyway, the last 50 pages or so were kind of good. Elise’s character grew *thank god*, everything was resolved and we were left with some inspirational quote to get by with our lives.

Overall, This Song Will Save Your Life was such a disappointment. I didn’t like the main character and you know how hard it is to read a book if the main character is being judgmental about everything. I just couldn’t take Elise’s attitude and her snobness. This book didn’t work out on me as much as I’d hoped to. However, this book might work to some audiences who clearly have longer patience better than me.

one-star

Leave a Reply

