Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

dangerous boys Published on: August 14th 2014
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery

Three teens venture into the abandoned Monroe estate one night; hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding; the other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder?

Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece together the story of how they got there-a story of jealousy, twisted passion, and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful of faces…

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

I cannot believe Abigail has done it again! The ending left me hanging! I felt a tinge of anger and disappointment. WHYYYYYYYY MUST YOU DO THIS TO US??

Calm down.
Calm down.

First things first, don’t get me wrong, but I really liked this book. However, I cannot help but to compare it to Dangerous Girls. I know that they are two different books, I just cannot help it. After months and months of waiting for this book, my expectations kept on rising and when I got to the ending I was like “WHAAAAAAT? IS THAT IT?”.

Still, the writing is really amazing. I really fell in love with the way Abigail writes. Her words just have this magic, her words just have a way into my heart. All those unspoken words and feelings crept inside of me and I couldn’t help saying “YES! YES!”.

Our lives are made up of choices, you see. Big ones, small ones, strung together by the thin air of good intentions; a line of dominoes, ready to fall.

The mystery… well. It was kind of a let down for me. I really had a high hopes for the mystery that surrounds this book but it failed because halfway through the book, I already know what will happen next.

However,after hours of contemplating, I came to the realization that the mystery wasn’t the point of the book but how far a human will go just to achieve his/her dreams, how far will a human go just to feel the thrill, how far a human can go just to have that freedom. I really admire those authors who are not afraid to write characters that are really complex.

From the moment you’re born, people start folding you into neat pieces and tucking you inside a box of their own design. They dress you up in their own expectations, before you even have a chance to understand the constrictions of your fate. That box becomes so cozy and warm, you never really notice that you’re bent double, fighting for room to breathe.

If you are a big fan of Tana French and Gillian Flynn, read Dangerous Girls and Dangerous Boys.

four-stars

Leave a Reply

