The Fall by Bethany Griffin

the fallPublished on: October 7th 2014
Genre: Young Adult | Horror

Madeline Usher is doomed.

She has spent her life fighting fate, and she thought she was succeeding. Until she woke up in a coffin.

Ushers die young. Ushers are cursed. Ushers can never leave their house, a house that haunts and is haunted, a house that almost seems to have a mind of its own. Madeline’s life—revealed through short bursts of memory—has hinged around her desperate plan to escape, to save herself and her brother. Her only chance lies in destroying the house.

In the end, can Madeline keep her own sanity and bring the house down?The Fall is a literary psychological thriller, reimagining Edgar Allan Poe’s classic The Fall of the House of Usher.

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

I’m not actually quite sure what to say about this book. The Fall is a young adult retelling of The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe which I have no idea about (Yeah! Yeah! I’m sorry. I’m a disgrace). Anyway, the first chapter of this book was enough to pull me in. . who buried Madeline? What’s the secret of the house? Why is it haunted?! The world the Usher’s lived in was really mysterious and I had a lot of questions about their history, what really happened? Why are they cursed? The mystery was really engrossing and I definitely felt that I was really liking this book. However, in the end it became repetitive and sometimes it was realllly slooooooow. This book contains 147 chapters. 147 CHAPTERS. 147 FREAKING CHAPTERS. The chapters are alternate from Madeline at different ages. It was kind of cool, at first, although when I was halfway through it. .I was confused that I have to look back again to check what timeline I was.

The writing was fantastic. It reminded me somehow of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I’m still not sure of what really happened in the end. I was like, WAIT WHAT.. Also, I didn’t expect that EMERGEHED TWINCEST happening it was actually creepy and it reminded me of Flowers in the attic although there was a tiny part of me that really hoped for it. The Fall didn’t scare me as much as I expected to but it did creep me out because of how enthralling the house is and because of that I must admit that the mysterious vibe that surround The Fall is really perfect for this halloween.

three-stars

Leave a Reply

