Taken (Taken #1) by Erin Bowman

newbirdPublished on: April 16th 2013
Genre: Young Adult | Dystopian

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys—but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends…and he’s gone.

They call it the Heist.

Gray Weathersby’s eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he’s prepared to meet his fate–until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he’s been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot–a structure that no one can cross and survive.

Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken–or risk everything on the hope of the other side?

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

Well, it has been such a long time since I’ve read a dystopian novel. Phew. That was one heck of a ride, to be honest.

I enjoyed reading Taken. This book had an amazing premise and an awesome world building. The first part of the story was really intriguing, I mean, why were the boys disappearing? what was the reason behind all of that? Gray, the main character, reading through his perspective was refreshing although there were times that I wanted to punch him because he was really stubborn and reckless. The thing that I loved about his character was he really did question everything around him, he’s smart but that personality is what also made him reckless and stupid.

The love thingy in this book started okay. There’s no insta love. Emma and Gray knew each when they were kids. .I never did feel their chemistry. And there’s Bree, which was really badass than Emma. But there’s still no chemistry. I also didn’t like what Gray did to Emma.What Emma did, in the first place, was not good. She cheated (Were they even together? No. In fact, Gray and Emma are even used to flings. They are being slated to different person when they were in Claysoot). . I’m angry at Gray of what he did to Emma because it was so out of the line! He made out with Bree in front of Emma. WHAT?! That’s just. .ugh.

I was almost at the end when I realized why I stopped reading dystopian novels. Because of the romance. Yes, the freaking romance that always made things more complicated than its supposed to. I much prefer this book without the romance and I’m wishing that Erin Bowman got rid of it on the second book!

Taken definitely has its ups and downs but what made me really liked this book is because of the world Erin Bowman created, it was really awesome. This book is more like Divergent but if you ask me now, I prefer this over Divergent. Erin Bowman gave the readers a lot of complicated questions but she still managed to answer all of that with such ease and without giving her readers an aneurysm.

three-stars

Leave a comment