Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

dontlookbackPublished on: April 15th 2014
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS

I knew it! A good nail-biting mystery is just what I really need. Reading slump sucks, to be honest and reading this book made it all better. I absolutely love the story of Don’t Look Back. It was creepy and every thing I ever wanted in a young adult mystery book.

The first chapter was so suspenseful. It was good and made me want to read more. What really happened to Samantha? Even though this kind of plot are overrated and repetitive, there’s just something about this book that made me want to finish it. The protagonist doesn’t remember any single thing about her life and what made it more interesting is because the fact that Samantha was a queen bitch before the accident. It was fun and frustrating at the same time learning Samantha’s personality before the incident. It was a different Samantha that came after the incident. She was nice and she questioned every stupid things she did.

There were a lot of creepy things that happened in this book. I absolutely loved it when Samantha got creepy notes and when she found out who wrote them in the first place, I was like. . . what the fuck. The thing with having a protagonist with an amnesia is you don’t know what or who to believe. Because the one relying the story doesn’t even know what happened to her. It can be a little problematic because the protagonist is so unreliable that I almost thought I was going crazy like her! Was she the one who killed Cassie? What happened to her and Cassie that night? Seriously, you honestly can’t know! All you have to do is sit tight and go along with the story.

The other supporting characters were likable. Especially, Scott, Samantha’s brother. I absolutely loved him.He was so protective of Samantha. Samantha’s parents were reliable for the most part. It didn’t feel like Samantha was sort of an orphan unlike with any other books where the parents always disappeared. Although, there were times when they were so annoying.. especially Samantha’s mom. The love interest, Carson, I was exactly keen on their relationship. Maybe I  preferred if they just stayed as friends and help each other out.

My problem with this book is I didn’t exactly get a glimpse of Samantha and Cassie. I know that they were frenemies but I was actually hoping for more. Also, there were a lot of clichés that involved Samantha and Carson. Like I said, I’m not fond of their relationship.

Don’t Look Back was absolutely crazy. I didn’t know who killed Cassie up until the big reveal. I had my suspicions but with having an unreliable narrator, you honestly couldn’t tell what’s real and what’s not.

four-stars

One comment

Leave a Reply

